Wins for Lesley Manville and Stefan Golaszewski for Mum at the RTS Programme Awards 2019

The awards, recognising work that makes a positive contribution to their genre, were announced in London on Tuesday 19 March.

The Royal Television Society has recognised Mum, produced by Big Talk in association with The Money Men, in its 2019 Programme Awards, where the second series of the show saw Lesley Manville win for Best Female Comedy Performance and Stefan Golaszewski win for Best Comedy Writer.

Judges described Manville’s performance as “extremely funny, nuanced and beautifully balanced,” and “her performance really did set a new benchmark for excellence in this genre,” while Golaszewski was praised for writing that “just sings throughout this masterfully well observed, beautiful comedy”.

Starring Olivier Award winner and BAFTA-nominated actress Lesley Manville, Mum is a family sitcom seen through the eyes of Cathy (Manville). The series follows her in her life as she moves on from the death of her husband; it’s the story of a woman finding who she is again and maybe finding love second time around. Also starring are Peter Mullan, Sam Swainsbury, Lisa McGrillis, Ross Boatman, Dorothy Atkinson, Marlene Sidaway and Karl Johnson.

The second series of Mum aired in February 2018 following its critically-acclaimed first series. Praise for the second series included “This sublime comedy deserves at least seven stars” (The Daily Telegraph), “…a masterfully crafted sitcom…” (Mail on Sunday) and “If Mike Leigh did sitcoms it would be this comedy…” (The Times). A third series is in production and due to air later this year.

The RTS Programme Awards seek to recognise programmes which, in the year in question, have made a material and positive contribution to their genre: either because their originality in form or content has in some way moved the genre on, or perhaps created a new genre; or because their quality has set standards which other programme-makers can learn from and emulate.

Recipients of the 2019 awards were announced in a ceremony held on Tuesday 19 March 2019 at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

See more on the RTS website.